SPOTLIGHT CONVERSATIONS

EXECUTIVE SPOTLIGHT W/CALEEB PINKETT

Wednesday, April 28th @ 10pm ET/ 7pm PT

President of TV & Film at Overbrook Entertainment 

Head of Overbrook Entertainment, Caleeb Pinkett is a writer, actor, and producer who has worked in the entertainment industry for several years. He is an Executive Producer on the Netflix series “Cobra Kai” and Producer of “Charm City Kings,” a film adaptation of the documentary 12 O'clock Boys. Caleeb’s most recent project is a film “The Dunbar Heist'' with production company Rebel Maverick. Caleeb will speak on his rise through the industry and how to tackle the challenges of producing. He will also walk attendees through the different types of producer positions in film and television and the skills needed to succeed in those roles.

DIGITAL PANELS

OWNING OUR SPACE IN THE INDUSTRY: A COVERSATION WITH BLACK WOMEN IN ENTERTAINMENT

Monday, April 26th @ 1pm ET/4pm PT

 (sponsored by The Oprah Winfrey Network, Blackbird House & Film Fatales)

Panelists:

Jill Marie Jones (actress - Delilah, Girlfriends)

Maahra Hill (actress - Delilah)

Bridgid Coulter Cheadle (actress - Westworld, CEO, Blackbird House)

Moderated by:

Deborah Riley Draper (Award-winning and critically acclaimed filmmaker - Olympic Pride, American Prejudice)

Though the statistics on women's involvement in the industry are growing positively day by day, there is still work to do! We discuss breaking down barriers and leading successful careers in a male dominated industry. Learn how these women pushed back against an industry door that was not built to let them in, all while holding it open for others to walk through.

ENTERTAINING EQUALITY: DIVERSITY, EQUITY & INCLUSION IN THE INDUSTRY

Monday, April 26th @ 8pm ET/5pm PT

Panelists:

Cindu Thomas-George (Founder & Principal Trainer at Shakti Diversity and Equity Training) 

Quincy Newell (Founder & President at TwentyOne14 Media)

Reggie Currelley (Producer, Writer, Actor)

Moderated by:

Teja Arboleda (President at Entertaining Diversity, Inc)

Ever since #OscarsSoWhite trended on twitter in 2015, the call for a conversation on inclusion of marginalized groups has only grown louder. Yet, there is still a disproportionate percentage of BIPOC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color) people being represented in front of and behind the camera. In this conversation we discuss the need for equity, diversity, and inclusion in the industry - looking back on how far we’ve come and how much further there is to go, and how we not only need to be invited to the party, but asked to dance as well!

AND THAT'S SHOWBIZ KID: HOW TO LEGALLY PROTECT YOUR IDEAS IN THE INDUSTRY

Thursday, April 29th @ 4pm ET/1pm PT

Panelists:

 Attorney Toni Y. Long (Entertainment Attorney)

Moderated by: TBD

Entertainment is more than storytelling and fictional characters - it is a business, filled with production companies, distributors, contracts, and unions. As a writer, actor, or filmmaker you will need to protect yourself and your art in this industry. Through this panel, attendees will learn the process of copyrights and trademarks, when and how to hire an attorney, and how to navigate through business agreements.

A CLASS ACT: A CONVERSATION WITH CASTING DIRECTORS

Friday, April 30th @ 6pm ET/3pm PT

Panelists:

Christian Bustamante (Associate Casting Director, One Night in Miami)

Jamie Castro (Casting Director, Grey’s Anatomy)

Renita Gale (Casting Director, Honda, Toyota)

Moderated by:

Whitney Valcin (Award-winning producer & casting director, Star)

Calling all actors! Do you lack confidence in your self tapes? Are you tired of not getting a callback? Do you wish to learn proper casting etiquette? If so, then you’re in luck! We all know the hardest part of being an actor is getting through the door. With top tier casting directors, we dive into what they’re looking for in audition tapes, when to update your headshots and how to stand out in auditions to book the role.

MASTER CLASS WORKSHOPS

HOW TO WRITE A FEATURE FILM

Tuesday, April 27th @ 4pm ET / 1pm PT

Instructor: Steve Pink

Award-winning writer & director - Hot Tub Time Machine

This class will give attendees an hour long intensive on the basics and mechanics of writing a feature film. Attendees will benefit from Pink’s decades of experience in the industry, while learning how to create scripts that sell, and films that make money.

HOW TO: MAXIMIZE USE OF OPTIC LENSES (Sponsored by Panavision)

Tuesday, April 27th @ 9:30pm ET / 6:30pm PT

Instructor: Dan Sasaki

VP Optical Engineer & Lens Strategy at Panavision

This workshop will be an optics-focused session with a Panavision lens strategist and expert. Attendees will learn about anamorphic lenses, macro and specialty lenses, legacy primes and advanced zooms - and how each impacts the position of a frame, and overall picture.

HOW TO: STAFF UP YOUR PRODUCTION (Sponsored by Staff Me Up)

Wednesday, April 28th @ 5pm ET /2pm PT

Instructor: Nicole Go

Senior Manager at Staff Me Up

So you have a script ready to shoot... but you don’t have a crew. The instagram and facebook posts aren’t reaching the proper audience, and your friends don’t know how to operate a camera. In this workshop, Staff Me Up gives you the rundown on how to optimize their sight and resources to staff up your production, while putting an emphasis on creating more diversity on set.

HOW TO: IMDbPRO LIKE A PRO (Sponsored by IMDbPro)

Wednesday, April 28th @ 7pm ET / 4pm PT

Instructor: Jed Shireman-Jones

Senior Account Manager at IMDbPro

IMDbPro includes all the data from IMDb and is specifically designed for entertainment industry professionals. This workshop will discuss IMDbPro and how you can optimize your membership to promote yourself and your work. Let’s demystify IMDb! Attendees will learn the differences between IMDb.com and IMDbPro, as well as how to update your credits on both. You’ll learn about IMDbPro’s many features to help you manage your profile on IMDb, tips for updating your filmography, and how to navigate the sites to help you network.

HOW TO: TALK TO INVESTORS FOR FILM FINANCING (Under $5mil)

Wednesday, April 28th @ 9pm ET / 6pm PT

Instructor: Viviana Zarragoitia

Vice President at Three Point Capital

One of the hardest parts of producing a film is securing the capital to fund your project. This 2-hour intensive will be a fundamental lesson about how to best navigate the layered and nuanced relationship of working with an investor. Learn how to speak to potential investors, best practices, key contract points, and an overview about waterfalls and recoupment.